Pete’s Breakfast House

At the corner of Catalina and Main Street, in what is technically Midtown, is Pete’s Breakfast House. I wish I could say that this is a secret little gem in Ventura, but the secret is already out. It’s one of the highest rated breakfast spots in Ventura (according the Yelp), and there is almost always a wait of at least 15 minutes. You can see a picture of me pouting about the wait below.

Once you’re inside, it’s a no-frills diner-style experience. The service is great and it truly feels like a small town eatery, which just helps to highlight the food. They even offer free coffee while you wait, and have plenty of benches to sit on.

This was actually our second trip here so, when you’re looking at all the pictures, no judging our four meals and calling us fat kids in your head – even though you’d be right, we’re total fat kids. The food is good, so multiple trips was a pleasure. The first time I was there, I went savory with a pretty good breakfast burrito and Kristina got a sandwich. Likely not the things we were supposed to get at Pete’s, so we had to give it another try. The breakfast burrito was good, but certainly not the best I’ve had. That distinction still belongs to King’s Burgers in Northridge (hit em up in you’re in the area, but give yourself about 45 minutes…and make sure you get TONS of the taco sauce). See how easily I get off track? Anyway, I would rate this burrito a 7/10. It’s got everything you need in a good burrito, but it won’t keep you coming back morning after morning because it’s haunting your dreams at night.

img_2394

img_2399img_2391img_2392

So after the burrito, I decided that I needed to go sweet on our second trip…and Kristina decided to actually order breakfast at the breakfast place (duh). I got the French Toast combo and K got a frittata with country potatoes and a biscuit (much better this time around, babe).

Much better ordering for her, and much better food for me this time around. It seems that savory was the way to go. The french toast was awesome. Soft in the middle, just a touch crispy on the outside, and the syrup. Oh, that syrup. If I had known, I would have put it on my burrito the first time I was there. I don’t even know what it was about it. It was just good.

img_2398img_2397img_2396img_2395

Below are some close ups of our first meal here.

img_0272

IMG_0275.jpgimg_0274

Leave a Reply

