Why cruising makes you fat

Remember this little factoid from the previous post? The average cruiser gains one pound per day on a cruise. The overachievers do far more damage. I have always been a bit of an overachiever, so it should come as no surprise that I put that figure (and my figure) to shame. But, when you see the pictures below, I’m sure you’ll at least understand how I managed to gain 15 pounds in only 7 days. I know. I’m an impressive human being. Let’s not even discuss the 6 or 7 soft serve ice cream cones I put down each day, usually two at a time. I hate myself and I love myself.

We had a standing reservation each night at the main dining hall. These meals were included in the cost of the cruise so one could order as much as he or she could handle. As I said, I am an over achiever. But I am also a bit of a foodie, and our food in the main dining hall was not only delicious, but as you can see above, it was also kind of beautiful. Easy to see why I was eating 3 appetizers and 2 or 3 entrees at every meal, then polishing it all off with a dessert or two for good measure. Can you feel the pounds adding up?

If you’re looking for something a bit classier, try some fine dining at Murano. It was served with silver dome-thingies for goodness sakes.

murano9

You can see some examples of some of the food that was ordered below from top to bottom:

Dover Sole Veronique, Herb Crusted Lamb rack, Lobster Bisque, Baked farm goat cheese souffle, Murano lobster, Châteaubriand, Chocolate souffle

We (Switching over to Kristina here. Adam tries to stick to the eating part alone) were so lucky to have the opportunity to take a cooking class at Murano, it is not something that they advertise on the ship, but was offered to us after inquiring about recipes for some of the dishes.  It was so awesome to get to see inside the kitchen and meet some of the amazing chefs that work so hard to prepare amazing dishes for us each day of our vacation.

murano17

The gave us aprons and chef hats. My sister, Noelle, and I were looking pretty cool.

murano23

We made this delicious smoked salmon and crab parfait.  I learned that a parfait can be any type of layered dish, not only the yogurt, fruit and granola parfaits we see at Starbucks.

We also made BBQ glazed chilean see bass with mashed potato, spinach, shoestring potatoes and horseradish demi-glace.

murano22

When our class was over they gave us each a signed copy of the Celebrity Solstice cookbook called, Excite the Senses.  It has recipes from all the restaurants on the ship, I cannot wait to try them!

Adam back again. Looks pretty good, doesn’t it? Needless to say, I can’t wait for her to try them either! With that, adieu, fair friends. I have soft serve to eat.

food

One thought on “Why cruising makes you fat

Leave a Reply

